Specialist Clinics Access Improvement PartnershipWhat is the Specialist Clinics Access Improvement Partnership?

The Specialist Clinics Access Improvement Partnership (the Partnership) was formed with 11 Victorian health services, by Better Care Victoria and Health Service Policy and Commissioning within the Department of Health and Human Services. It is governed by a steering committee of CEOs, clinicians and department staff. 

Based on a collaborative methodology of learning, teams of health practitioners and leaders from the participating health services are brought together in a structured way that allows them to gain the knowledge, skills, and confidence needed to implement continuous and sustainable change in their specialist clinics.    

Why has the Specialist Clinics Access Improvement Partnership been established?

Since 2012 there have been a series of reforms of specialist (outpatient) clinics including: new data collection requirements, introduction of the access policy and improved standardisation. However more support is required to address current system constraints and gaps impacting on timely access. 

What are the objectives of the Specialist Clinics Access Improvement Partnership?

Through facilitating collaboration and providing the tools to help Victorian health services help each other improve, the Specialist Clinics Access Improvement Partnership aims to advance the delivery of specialist clinics care. The focus is on access and patient experience and the participating services will work towards improving performance against the following key indicators:

  • 100% urgent patients to be seen within 30 days
  • 90% routine patients to be seen within 365 days
  • reduction in 'did not attends'
  • improve new to review ratio
  • improve patient experience (VHES)

These indicators will be supplemented by health service level measures, including waiting times for clinics and other appropriate measures.

Participating health services in 2017-18

The following 11 Victorian health services are participating:

  • Austin Health
  • Ballarat Health Services
  • Bendigo Health
  • Eastern Health
  • Northern Health
  • Peninsula Health
  • The Royal Children’s Hospital
  • Melbourne Health
  • The Royal Victorian Eye & Ear Hospital
  • St Vincent’s Hospital
  • Western Health 

Further information

For further information please contact us via email at bcv@dhhs.vic.gov.au